About Us

About San Mateo County Farm Bureau

San Mateo County Farm Bureau is a non-profit organization that services the farming community of San Mateo County. Its membership consists of a majority of all county farmers and ranchers whose dues are an important part of the organization’s funding.

The policy making body of the Farm Bureau is the 9 member Board of Directors. Elected by their peers, the Board represents a cross-section of the county agricultural community.

The Farm Bureau works to enhance the agricultural industry in San Mateo County. Many activities focus on education of consumers, employees and farmers. In addition, we offer local scholarships, safety programs, school agriculture support and bilingual training materials for farm operators.

We are the leading agricultural organization in San Mateo County and are part of the California Farm Bureau Federation, the foremost agricultural organization in the state.

Board of Directors 2020-2021


BJ Burns, President

Louie Figone, First Vice President

Don McCahon, Second Vice President

Leslie Phipps, Secretary/Treasurer


Ron Bongard
Bob Marsh
Peter Marchi
James Oku
Ron Sturgeon

Jess Brown, Executive Director